July 2, 1866

“Oh that I might ever be with him…”

20160629_090005

“Pleasant and warm, have Called on Mrs Chace and Mrs Brow. took a short walk this evening. I find I am still longing for John’s presence  nothing is enjoyment without him I find. Oh that I might ever be with him. and I feel that with desire was only granted me my happiness would be complete. Love is the crowning bliss of woman’s heart.”  – Hattie E.F. D.

Notes: John is Hattie’s betrothed (see entry from January 18 for engagement).
Advertisement from the Taunton Directory, 1850

 

20160120_133646

© 2016 Amy E. McManus
Leave a Reply

